APRIL 22 - MAY 5, 2024

The Spanish Armada sets sail

Fans of Spanish tennis can expect an exciting day on Sunday as the home players will be on court from the offset. With the WTA main draw now underway, the Caja Mágica will also see the first main draw matches in the ATP competition tomorrow.

The Manolo Santa will open its doors to Carla Suárez’s singles opener, which sees her take on the Hungarian Timea Babos. She will be followed by Garbiñe Muguruza, who will face Anna Karolina Schmiedlova on the same court. At 15:00 another Spaniard, Fernando Verdasco, will lift the curtain on the ATP competition with his clash against the Argentinian Juan Mónaco.

The Arantxa Sánchez Vicario Stadium will witness the opener of the tournament’s defending champion Petra Kvitova, who will be playing the Spanish Lara Arruabarrena. After this match, one of the favourites, the Belarussian Victoria Azarenka will square off against Laura Robson.

The morning session will end with the ties between Jelena Jankovic and Sorana Cirstea and Johanna Konta against French player Caroline Garcia.

The evening session starts with another ATP main-draw match, in which Alexandr Dolgopolov opens his campaign against US player Steve Johnson, and the women’s competition will see Eugenie Bouchard versus Irina-Camelia Begu, and Andrea Petkovic against Timea Bacsinszky.

The day’s play will come to a close with the match between number one seed Agnieszka Radwanska and Dominika Cibulkova.

See the Order of Play here.