APRIL 21 - MAY 4, 2025

The WTA Stars are coming back to Madrid!

With a little over a month left until the start of the sixteenth Mutua Madrid Open, the WTA has announced the list of players with direct access to the main draw whose presence in the Caja Mágica is confirmed. The biggest stars on the women’s tour will be battling it out once more on the Madrid clay in the third Premier Mandatory of the season, one of the most important dates on the calendar. Angelique Kerber and Serena Williams top a list that includes Spaniards Garbiñe Muguruza and Carla Suárez.

The players registered for the Mutua Madrid Open are:

  1. Angelique Kerber
  2. Serena Williams
  3. Karolina Pliskova
  4. Dominika Cibulkova
  5. Simona Halep
  6. Garbiñe Muguruza
  7. Svetlana Kuznetsova
  8. Agnieszka Radwanska
  9. Madison Keys
  10. Elina Svitolina
  11. Johanna Konta
  12. Venus Williams
  13. Elena Vesnina
  14. Caroline Wozniacki
  15. Timea Bacsinszky
  16. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova
  17. Kristina Mladenovic
  18. Samantha Stosur
  19. Barbora Strycova
  20. Kiki Bertens
  21. Coco Vandeweghe
  22. Caroline Garcia
  23. Carla Suárez
  24. Anastasija Sevastova
  25. Daria Gavrilova
  26. Timea Babos
  27. Irina-Camelia Begu
  28. Mirjana Lucic-Baroni
  29. Roberta Vinci
  30. Ana Conjuh
  31. Yulia Putintseva
  32. Shuai Zhang
  33. Lauren Davis
  34. Ekaterina Makarova
  35. Lucie Safarova
  36. Katerina Siniakova
  37. Alison Riske
  38. Laura Siegemund
  39. Monica Puig
  40. Lesia Tsurenko
  41. Daria Kasatkina
  42. Shuai Peng
  43. Alizé Corne
  44. Mónica Niculescu
  45. Christina McHale
  46. Julia Goerges
  47. Naomi Osaka
  48. Yaroslava Shvedova
  49. Misaki Doi
  50. Kristyna Pliskova
  51. Viktorija Golubic

To complete the 64-player main draw for the Mutua Madrid Open, eight players will come through the qualifying stages. In addition to the confirmed invite for Maria Sharapova, the organisers will be announcing four new wildcards in the coming weeks.

Tournament Director Manolo Santana used the announcement as an opportunity to dedicate a few words to Petra Kvitova: “I would like to send my best wishes and affection to Petra Kvitova, who is unable to play this year for reasons I am sure you are all aware of. I have special admiration for Petra’s capacity to overcome adversity and I would love to see her back here fighting for her third title next year”.

The Mutua Madrid Open roll of honour includes Serena Williams (2012 and 2013), Petra Kvitova (2011 and 2015), Simona Halep (2016), Maria Sharapova (2014), Aravane Rezai (2010) and Dinara Safina (2009). Which player will be crowned this year after the final on 13 May?