APRIL 22 - MAY 5, 2024

Nadal, Muguruza, Alcaraz, Badosa and Djokovic, all registered for the 2022 Mutua Madrid Open

The best ATP and WTA players in the world will be back at the Mutua Madrid Open again this year from 26 April to 8 May. Fans can now see who has registered to form part of an entry list that includes first-class players like Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Paula Badosa, Garbiñe Muguruza and Carlos Alcaraz, among many others.

The men’s and women’s world number ones will be in action in the Caja Mágica. Both Novak Djokovic, a three-time champion of the tournament (2011, 2016, 2019), and Iga Swiatek, who will be playing on the Madrid clay for the second time in her career, head the entry lists.

The two best ATP players of the 2022 season so far will also be in the line-up; Nadal and Alcaraz. The No. 1 and No. 2 in the Race (the ranking based on points collected in a calendar year), respectively, will be among the favourites for the crown. At last year’s edition, they came face to face in the second round.

Meanwhile, in the women’s competition, all eyes will be on Paula Badosa, one of the breakthrough players of 2021, when she became the first Spanish woman in the history of the tournament to reach the semi-finals. Garbiñe Muguruza will be bidding to emulate her. They are both currently among the WTA Top 10.

The defending champions will also be back in the Manolo Santana stadium to defend their throne. Aryna Sabalenka, currently in the world’s Top 5, and Alexander Zverev, who returned to his career-high ranking this week at No. 3, will both be on a mission to protect their reign. It will be the German’s second attempt at doing so, having also won the event in 2018.

Previous runners-up Stefanos Tsitsipas (2019), Dominic Thiem (2017 and 2018) and Matteo Berrettini (2021) will be hoping for a repeat performance this year. Young guns Jannik Sinner, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Denis Shapovalov will also be looking to make a splash.

Krejcikova, the current French Open champion, former world No. 1 Simona Halep (champion in 2016 and 2017), Karolina Pliskova, Victoria Azarenka (twice finalist, in 2011 and 2012) and Angelique Kerber all form part of the line-up in the Caja Mágica. They will be joined by three-time champion Petra Kvitova (2011, 2015, 2018).

Fans will also be able to catch emerging talents such as 19-year-old US Open champion Emma Raducanu, Leylah Fernández, also 19, and Coco Gauff, 18, among others in the WTA 1000 competition.